Quarantine – Week six

Missing Anniversaries.

Monday 2020/4/20
Swelling in my arm has started to subside. Still chowing down on antibiotics.

Tuesday 2020/4/21
A year ago today, I was in Chesterfield.

Wednesday 2020/4/22
Some more motion in my arm and much less pain, decided to make the most of the unseasonable weather and clear skies and do some astronomy. Getting the telescope out was harder than usual. Managed to get some time on M101 – the Pinwheel Galaxy.

M101 – Pinwheel Galaxy

Thursday 2020/4/23
Should have bought train tickets to EMFCamp today, but it has been cancelled this year.

Friday 2020/4/24
Much more motion in my arm now, but strength is reduced. Got the telescope out again to try a new light pollution filter. Added another 3 hours to my Bode’s Galaxy data.

Saturday 2020/4/25
11 Year anniversary of meeting M. First year we’ve not been able to celebrate in person. Bum!
Telescope was still set up and ready to go, so I imaged The cigar galaxy and Bode’s galaxy in the same frame.

Cigar and Bode's galaxy from a very light polluted back garden in East London
Cigar and Bode’s galaxy from a very light polluted back garden in East London

Sunday 2020/4/26
Nothing much happened.

Quarantine – Week Three.

Social Self-distancing

Monday 2020/3/30
Found out another acquaintance had died, this time not from the virus. Rest well Marc. Marked science reports.

Tuesday 2020/3/31

More marking today. Looked over presentation for interview.

Wednesday 2020/04/01

Student mentor session in morning, remote job interviewing afternoon. It went well.

Thursday 2020/04/02

Getting ready for the Icon ConserveAtHome talk [YouTube link]. Gave that shortly after finding out I didn’t get the job from previous day. As expected. Imaged Venus and the Pleiades

Friday 2020/04/03

Lazy day. Went for a run. Imaged Venus and the Pleiades again, did a better job this time.

Venus and Pleiades though high cloud

Saturday 2020/04/04
Did some work in the garden, chopped wood, cleaned out the small shed. Took two hours of exposures of M101 – pinwheel galaxy. Very faint, needs a lot more time for good results.

M101 PInwheel Galaxy, 30 x 240s stacked exposures.

Sunday 2020/04/05
Started planning a series of videos for conservation people.